The Carnegie Trust is very pleased to announce the names of the sixteen recipients of the Carnegie and Caledonian PhD scholarships for tenure from academic year 2013-2014. The highly competitive scholarships provide awardholders with a stipend, tuition fee support and research expenses for a maximum of three years.

The names and affiliation of the awardholders are:

Carnegie Scholars

Niall Bartlett, History/Celtic & Gaelic, University of Glasgow

Amelia Bieling, Pure and Applied Chemistry, University of Strathclyde

Fiona Clubb, School of Geosciences, University of Edinburgh

Louise Dear, School of Modern Languages & Cultures, University of Glasgow

Joseph Dewhurst, Philosophy, University of Edinburgh

Sofia Evemalm, Celtic & Gaelic, University of Glasgow

Alexandre Charles Johnston, Classics, University of Edinburgh

Fiona McKay, Journalism, University of Strathclyde

Yasamin Motamedi-Mousavi, Linguistics and English Language, School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Sean Murphy, School of History, University of St Andrews

Nicholas O'Donnell-Hoare, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design, University of Dundee

Teodora Oniga, Department of Physics, University of Aberdeen

Liz Ravalde, Social Anthropology, University of Edinburgh

Zoe Sturrock, School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of St Andrews

Caledonian Scholars

Helen Green, Archaeology, University of Glasgow

Rebekah Mayhew, Biological and Environmental Sciences, University of Stirling


This prestigious scheme supports a limited number of graduates, with first class Honours degrees from a Scottish university, who wish to pursue three years of postgraduate research leading to a PhD at a university in Scotland in any subject or field. Candidates are nominated by a permanent academic member of staff of a Scottish university. Learn more about the Carnegie Scholarships.

The Trust also administers the Caledonian Scholarships on behalf of the RSEScotland Foundation (RSESF). The Scholarships are awarded and held under identical conditions as the Carnegie Scholarships and are under the charge and control of the Trustees of the RSESF, who retain the power to alter the rules and to change the purpose and destination of the Scholarships.

In 2013, the Carnegie Trust received 121 nominations, of which a number later withdrew or were considered ineligible. The Trust made 16 awards, leading to a success rate of 15.75%.

Latest News