On Wednesday 26th February, Lou Dear, PhD candidate at the University of Glasgow received the Robertson Medal for academic year 2013-14.

The silver medal is awarded each year to the Scholarship candidate judged to be the most outstanding of that year’s competition. The medal was introduced in 2003 to mark the contribution of the retiring Chairman of the Trust, Sir Lewis Robertson, who served the Trust for over 40 years.

About this year's recipient

Lou Dear is an aspiring creative writer from Tayport in Fife, currently based in Glasgow. She initially studied literature at the University of Glasgow, and law at Queen's University Belfast and the National University of Ireland in Galway. Her interests are in Empire and colonialism; post / decolonial writing and theory; radical politics and guerrilla gardening.

Lou's research will read radical black anti-colonial writers, politically active during revolutionary periods in colonised spaces in order to explore the political potential of decolonial theory and writing in our current context. Specifically, she will look at the work of Sylvia Wynter (Jamaica) and Édouard Glissant (Martinique). Her overall aim is to understand and challenge imperial epistemologies and systems of thought as operate in our current context, particularly within the Western neoliberal University.

On receiving the award from Sir David Edward, Chairman of the Carnegie Trust, Lou says:

"The Carnegie Caledonian Scholarships play an increasingly important role in supporting independent research and higher education in Scotland. Over the past few years, dramatic cuts in government funding, in addition to the political preferences of the research councils, mean that I could not have undertaken my research without support from the Carnegie Trust. As such I feel very privileged to have this award."

DSCF0481From left to right:

Professor Andy Walker (Secretary & Treasurer, Carnegie Trust), Professor Michael Syrotinski (Marshall Chair of French, University of Glasgow), Sir David Edward (Chairman, Carnegie Trust), Lou Dear (Robertson Medallist and Carnegie Scholar), Professor Steve Beaumont (Vice-Principal Research, University of Glasgow) and Professor Willy Maley (Critical Studies, University of Glasgow).

Latest News