Highlights from Carnegie PhD Scholars’ Gathering 2020

Tanith Harte, University of Strathclyde

On 13th February 2020 we welcomed 42 new and continuing Carnegie PhD Scholars for our annual Scholars’ Gathering. The event, held at

Shaun Patterson, University of Glasgow


Point in Dundee included poster sessions for first year Scholars and research presentations for continuing Scholars.

We were delighted to welcome back former Carnegie Scholar Dr Fiona McKay who talked about her own experiences during and since completing her PhD. Fiona undertook her PhD at the University of Strathclyde, graduating in 2018.

We were also pleased to welcome Jo Chaffer from Advance HE, who provided information to our Scholars on the Carnegie Future Leaders programme, which is being piloted this year.

Zita Babarczi, University of Stirling

A judging panel comprised of Professor Andy Walker, Professor Sally Mapstone, Professor Nigel Seaton and Margarita Kanevski awarded Best Poster to Tanith Harte, University of Strathclyde.

A separate judging panel including Dr John Thompson, Dr Alison Fielding, Vitalijs Brejevs and Wendy McGlashan awarded the Best 3×3 Presentation to Shaun Patterson, University of Glasgow.

Jack Suitor, University of Edinburgh

The People’s Choice award for Best Poster went to Zita Babarczi, University of Stirling, with the People’s Choice award for Best Presentation going to Jack Suitor, University of Edinburgh.

These awards were presented by our Chair, Professor Dame Anne Glover.