The Trust is delighted to announce the names of the international academics awarded Carnegie Centenary Professorships in the latest selection round for this scheme. Exceptionally, three awards were made for tenure in 2015 or 2016. The successful nominees are:

Professor Richard Ellisthumb Ellis CCP2014, Steele Professor of Astronomy, California Institute of Technology. Nominated by the University of Edinburgh.

Professor Ellis works primarily in observational cosmology addressing issues related to the nature of the world model, the origin and evolution of galaxies, the growth of large scale structure and the nature and distribution of dark matter. He is enthusiastic about the use of new instruments and observational opportunities when they further the progress that can be made in these areas. 


Professor Geoffrey Parkerthumb Historiador Geoffrey Parker 6©Modern Press, Distinguished University Professor and Andreas Dorpalen Professor of European History, Ohio State University. Nominated by the University of St Andrews.

Professor Parker studied history at Christ’s College Cambridge, where he received a BA, PhD, and Litt.D. He then taught at the Universities of Cambridge, St. Andrews (Scotland and British Columbia), Illinois, and Yale. He joined Ohio State’s Department of History in 1997. He specializes in the social, political, and military history of Europe between 1500 and 1650, with special reference to Spain and its empire. He is the author of several seminal books in the area: The Army of Flanders and the Spanish Road: The logistics of Spanish victory and defeat in the Low Countries Wars, 1567-1659 (1972; revised 2004), an explanation of why Spain – the only western superpower of its day – failed to suppress the Dutch Revolt. This was followed by a biography of Philip II (1978, third edition 2002; translated into Spanish, Czech, Dutch, Italian and Polish); The Grand Strategy of Philip II (1998); and, with Colin Martin (a former graduate advisee) The Spanish Armada, published in 1988 (the 400th anniversary), with a revised and expanded edition in 1999.

 Professor Graham Farquharthumb Farquhar AO, FAA, FRS, NAS, Professor of Biology, Australian National University. Nominated by the University of Glasgow.

Professor Farquhar has a long career in research across a broad range of fields and scales, from the molecular and isotopic composition of plants to global environmental change. He has over 300 research publications and is a leading Citation Laureate. He is a fellow of The Australian Academy of Science, the Royal Society (London), and the National Academy of Sciences (USA). Graham has received honorary doctorates from the Universities of Wageningen, Antwerp, professorships from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and numerous awards, including the Peter Baume Award (Australia) the Order of Australia (UK), the Rank Prize (UK), and the Alexander von Humboldt award (Germany). He has served in various capacities internationally, including as a scientific advisor and Australian representative to the Kyoto Framework Convention, and he is honoured with the shared Nobel Peace Prize (2007) as a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.Graham earned a BSc from Australian National University in 1968, a BSc with Honours in Biophysics from University of Queensland in 1969, and a PhD from Australian National University in 1973. He undertook research at the Department of Energy laboratories of Michigan State University before returning  to Australia in 1976. He has researched for more than 40 years across a range of fields and scales, from the cellular to the field. He is one of a relatively small number of plant scientists who brings to his research a background in both physics and biology.

About the Carnegie Centenary Professorships

Carnegie Centenary Professorships aim to attract researchers of the highest academic standing, who will contribute to academic/scientific developments in the Scottish universities in their particular fields, whether in teaching or research or in both, in emerging as well as established disciplines or in interdisciplinary fields. At least two awards are available each year. The next deadline for submitting nominations is 15th July 2015.

Learn more about the scheme or read the profiles of current and recent award holders.


Latest News

  • Join our team: Vacancy for an experienced Administrator 19 Oct

    A new appointment across the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland and the Carnegie Dunfermline and Hero Fund Trusts, the Administrator will be responsible for the general administration of the Trusts’ offices and a wide ranging support service for meetings and events, publications and communications, social media and website. This is an ideal role for someone with a background in administration who is seeking to demonstrate excellent organisational and communication skills in a challenging and varied post. 

  • New Online Grant Application System Now Open 03 Oct

    The first phase of the Trust's new online grant application system is now live. Applicants for the Research Incentive Grants are invited to complete their application through the new system by the closing date of 31st of October 2017, 5pm. 

  • Carnegie Researchers at the Festival of Politics 26 Sep

    Dr Catriona MacDonald (University of Glasgow), Professor Kirstie Blair (University of Strathclyde), Professor Gerard Carruthers (University of Glasgow) and Dr Michael Shaw were awarded a Collaborative Research Grant in the 2014-15 round for the research project "The People’s Voice: Scottish political poetry, song, and the franchise, 1832-1918". As part of the Festival of Politics at the Scottish Parliament running from the 19th -21st of October the researchers are hosting a debate called The People's Voice on Friday the 20th at 3pm.

  • 40 Research Incentive Grants Awarded 01 Aug

    The Trust is delighted to announce the project titles and researchers awarded Research Incentive Grants for the  March 2017 round. A total of 113 applications were submitted this year and 40 projects were selected for funding.

  • Nineteen PhD Scholarships awarded for tenure from 2017-18 26 Jul

    The Trust is very pleased to announce the names and project titles of the students awarded PhD scholarships for tenure from 2017-18 onwards. This year the Trust was able to award 16 Carnegie PhD Scholarships, 2 Caledonian Scholarships and 1 Henry Dryerre Scholarship.