Two Trustees, two grantholders and three Carnegie Research Assessors have been elected to become fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The Trust is delighted to see the outstanding research of its awardholders and the contributions of its trustees and assessors to the Scottish academic community recognised by Scotland's National Academy. The new fellows include:

thumb principal CBE 2013-200x200Professor Pamela Gillies CBE

Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Glasgow Caledonian University. Ex-officio Trustee



thumb PetraPortrait448-299Professor Petra Wend

Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Queen Margaret University. Ex-officio Trustee


Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones

Forbes Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Edinburgh. Holder of a Collaborative Research Grant

Professor Niamh Nic Daied

Professor of Forensic Science, University of Dundee. Holder of a Collaborative Research Grant and Carnegie Research Assessor

Professor Marcel Jaspars

Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Aberdeen. Carnegie Research Assessor

Professor Vicki Stone

Professor of Toxicology and Director of Nano-Safety Research Group, Heriot-Watt University. Carnegie Research Assessor

Professor Klaas Wynne

Professor of Chemical Physics, University of Glasgow. Carnegie Research Assessor

The full list of new fellows can be found on the RSE website.

Latest News

  • Join our team: Vacancy for an experienced Administrator 19 Oct

    A new appointment across the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland and the Carnegie Dunfermline and Hero Fund Trusts, the Administrator will be responsible for the general administration of the Trusts’ offices and a wide ranging support service for meetings and events, publications and communications, social media and website. This is an ideal role for someone with a background in administration who is seeking to demonstrate excellent organisational and communication skills in a challenging and varied post. 

  • New Online Grant Application System Now Open 03 Oct

    The first phase of the Trust's new online grant application system is now live. Applicants for the Research Incentive Grants are invited to complete their application through the new system by the closing date of 31st of October 2017, 5pm. 

  • Carnegie Researchers at the Festival of Politics 26 Sep

    Dr Catriona MacDonald (University of Glasgow), Professor Kirstie Blair (University of Strathclyde), Professor Gerard Carruthers (University of Glasgow) and Dr Michael Shaw were awarded a Collaborative Research Grant in the 2014-15 round for the research project "The People’s Voice: Scottish political poetry, song, and the franchise, 1832-1918". As part of the Festival of Politics at the Scottish Parliament running from the 19th -21st of October the researchers are hosting a debate called The People's Voice on Friday the 20th at 3pm.

  • 40 Research Incentive Grants Awarded 01 Aug

    The Trust is delighted to announce the project titles and researchers awarded Research Incentive Grants for the  March 2017 round. A total of 113 applications were submitted this year and 40 projects were selected for funding.

  • Nineteen PhD Scholarships awarded for tenure from 2017-18 26 Jul

    The Trust is very pleased to announce the names and project titles of the students awarded PhD scholarships for tenure from 2017-18 onwards. This year the Trust was able to award 16 Carnegie PhD Scholarships, 2 Caledonian Scholarships and 1 Henry Dryerre Scholarship.